Леонид Иванович Добычин

Leonid Ivanovich Dobychin

Леонид Добычин родился в июне 1894 года в Люцине (так назывался тогда город Лудза) в семье врача Ивана Андриановича Добычина. Вскоре Добычины переехали в Двинск (Даугавпилс), где и прошли детские годы Леонида. Именно в нашем городе впечатлительный мальчик, будущий писатель, сформировался как личность. Об этом свидетельствует главная книга его жизни – роман «Город Эн» (1936), в котором изображён Двинск-Даугавпилс начала ХХ века.

Творческое наследие писателя невелико – при жизни Л. Добычина были изданы всего лишь два сборника рассказов: «Встречи с Лиз» и «Портрет», а также, отдельной книгой, роман «Город Эн». Именно за это авангардное, не похожее на соцреалистические романы той эпохи произведение, в марте 1936 года автор был подвергнут жесточайшей критике и обвинён в «формализме». Исследователи полагают, что именно публичное судилище над Добычиным на собрании Ленинградского отделения Союза писателей, состоявшееся 25 марта 1936 года, побудило его свести счёты с жизнью.

В советское время о Леониде Добычине надолго забыли. Его творчество стало предметом исследования лишь в конце 1980-х – начале 1990-х гг., и спустя 50 лет после «ухода в никуда» писатель получил мировое признание. Произошло это в значительной мере благодаря учёным Даугавпилсского университета. Сейчас книги Л. Добычина переведены на английский, французский, немецкий и другие европейские языки.

В течение 25 лет (начиная с 1990 г.) Даугавпилс превратился в один из главных центров изучения творчества Добычина. За это время в Даугавпилсском университете было проведено 11 международных Добычинских конференций и семинаров, издано 11 научных сборников, посвящённых творчеству писателя, а также осуществлено научное издание романа «Город Эн» – с обширными комментариями известного российского добычиноведа А. Ф. Белоусова.

Изучение творчества Л. Добычина остаётся актуальным и в наши дни: о нём пишут статьи латвийские, российские и европейские ученые, ему посвящаются магистерские и докторские исследования, проводятся международные научные конференции.

Leonid Ivanovich Dobychin

Leonid Ivanovich Dobychin

Leonid Dobychin was born in June of 1894 in the Latvian town of Luzin (now Ludza). His father, Ivan Andrianovich Dobychin, was a physician. Soon after his birth the family moved to Dvinsk (now Daugavpils), where Leonid spent his childhood years. Leonid became a writer as an adult, and it was here, in our city, that this impressionable young boy’s identity was formed. His major work, The Town of N (1936) attests to this fact: It depicts life in Dvinsk/Daugavpils at the turn of the twentieth century.

Dobychin’s literary legacy is a modest one. In addition to The Town of N, only two collections of short stories – Encounters with Lise and The Portrait – were published during his lifetime. However, it was The Town of N, an avantgarde work of literature that in no way resembled other officially-sanctioned contemporary works of Socialist realism, that elicited the harshest censure from the Soviet literary establishment. Dobychin was accused of using a “formalist” literary approach. Scholars believe that it was a public trial, held at a meeting of the Leningrad branch of the Union of Soviet Writers on March 25, 1936 that prompted his suicide.

Dobychin was forgotten during the remaining years of the Soviet government. It wasn’t until the late 1980s early 1990s that his work became an object of scholarly interest. Some 50 years after his tragic death, Dobychin’s work received international recognition, due in large part to the efforts of scholars of Daugavpils University. Today, Dobychin’s books have been translated into English, French, German and other European languages.

Over the past 25 years, Daugavpils University has become one of the chief centers for the study of Dobychin’s works. In that time, the University has hosted 11 international Dobychin conferences and seminars, published 11 scholarly compendia dedicated to Dobychin’s work, as well as a scholarly edition of The Town of N, annotated by A.F. Belousov, the prominent Dobychin scholar from Russia.

The study of Dobychin’s works remains relevant to the present day; scholars from Europe, Russia and Latvia continue to publish articles on him. His work is the subject of Master’s and Doctoral theses, and international conferences continue to be held in his honor.